Ultra Blue

November 03, 2022

this one is about my favorite monster flavor. ultra blue. apple of my eye. my darling. luz de mi vida. you could not comprehend the trials and tribulations I've had to go through to get this thing. it was one of the first flavors I tried back when I started drinking monster in 2020, and obviously because I liked it that meant it immediately disappeared off the shelves. have not seen this thing in any store, gas station, or vending machine in two years. my mom was convinced it was discontinued but I maintained hope. and at last we are vindicated because my mom bought me a pack off amazon. thank you mom.

the description on the can reads as follows: "Aspen, Chamonix, Park City, Whistler, Mammoth…the list goes on. The competition & training circuit has taken the team on some epic snow trips. In honor of these mountain towns comes Ultra Blue. Best served ice cold from the frosty can, Ultra Blue Monster is sugar free and lighter-tasting with zero calories and a full-load of our Monster energy blend. From first chair to last call…"

the flavor profile, as defined on the website, is "Light Citrus and Berry"

RATING: Eh
I don't know who any of those people are. I am a big fan of snow trips and mountain towns though, so we can pretend.

the can is a light blue with various silver details. it's reminiscent of winter, with little dots like snowflakes and more complex fractals. if we wanted to get really abstract, you could even interpret it as snow coming off the branch of a tree. not a lot going on visually, but the details make it seem like someone actually put effort into making it look nice.

    now comes the part I'm very excited for. here is my review:
  1. smells like light citrus and berry. 10/10
  2. tastes like light citrus and berry. I could actually cry rn. 10/10
    • the berry flavor is more prominent than any citrus. I'm a big fan of fruity things (insert joke here) so that's why I like it.
  3. the aftertaste isn't that different from the actual taste, so it could be argued that there really isn't one. it just kind of lingers. 10/10

overall rating: 10/10. it's like being reunited with an old lover. if 10/10 on the loca moca was generous because it didn't bring me any joy, then this is the opposite. I am experiencing childlike glee right now.

once again shout out to my mom for sponsoring this monster review. I love you mom. don't forget to hashtag like and subscribe.