2023 Spotify Wrapped

December 31, 2023

I'm sharing my Spotify Wrapped again this year so that I can compare with last year. Last year's results definitely skewed my expectations, so I wasn't as surprised this time around.

    my top genres:
  1. Alternative Metal
  2. Pop Punk
  3. pov: indie
  4. Rock
  5. Emo

Besides rock and pop punk, these are all new additions to the list. Rock and pop punk actually switched places this year (rock from 2nd to 4th, pop punk from 4th to 2nd). I don't know what the hell "pov: indie" is though. It's at the same rank indie pop was last year, so maybe that's it? I don't listen to pop though, so I don't actually know what band/songs that would be referring to. It reminds me of a couple years ago when I got "Dream SMP" as one of my top genres, which is (was?) apparently a Minecraft Youtube channel or something along those lines. Like, hello????????

My location of geographical similarity was Pittsburgh, USA. "People there are far more likely to be fans of Pierce The Veil, The Used, and Fall Out Boy." If any Pittsburgh baddies are reading this...........,.,.hmu.

"Your top song was Even When I'm Not With You by Pierce The Veil. You played it 223 times this year, starting on January 22. And it still sounds perfect." Listen. I distinctly remember that night. I was listening to it on loop and having a Moment^tm and I thought to myself, "Damn, this is probably gonna end up as my top song this year." Lo and behold. I've mentioned before that it took a little while for the song to grow on me, but when it did........Something about PTV releasing a relaxed ballad when most of their discography consists of screamo songs about broken hearts and toxic relationships. The fact that the last two lines of the chorus are, "Look how far we've come / Think I've finally won." INCONSOLABLE!!!

Anyways. More mental illness incoming:

    My top songs:
  1. Even When I'm Not With You by Pierce The Veil
  2. The Cheap Bouquet by Pierce The Veil
  3. Pass The Nirvana by Pierce The Veil
  4. Currents Convulsive by Pierce The Veil
  5. Falling Asleep on a Stranger by Pierce The Veil

I'm surprised that Pass The Nirvana is on that list. I like the song, but I don't think I like it that much. Also, I'm not surprised that there's so many songs from A Flair For The Dramatic on there, since I discovered a new appreciation for that album this year. I am, however, surprised that there aren't any songs from Selfish Machines on that list, considering that's my favorite album (in general, not just from PTV). I did spend a lot of time crying to A Flair For The Dramatic this year though, so maybe that just overshadowed it.

As for listening time: I listened for 87,095 minutes, which translates to 60 days nonstop. 30,174 of those minutes were spent listening to Pierce The Veil. They were my top artist this year (no surprise there), and apparently I was in their top 0.005% of listeners. That's an improvement from 0.05% last year. I think I'm mentally ill enough that I could get 0.001% next year if I really tried.

    My top artists:
  1. Pierce The Veil
  2. My Chemical Romance
  3. Fall Out Boy
  4. System Of A Down
  5. Deftones

I can't believe Deftones is in my top five. This is literally so embarrassing. System Of A Down and Deftones are both new to the list this year. They took the place of The Used and Sleeping With Sirens. The top three didn't change their order at all from last year. Now that I think about it, it's kind of weird that the geographical similarity section listed specifically "Pierce The Veil, The Used, and Fall Out Boy" when The Used isn't on my top five list at all this year, nor are any of their songs. Does Pittsburgh not listen to My Chemical Romance? PA baddies please respond

Other stats from the Wrapped: I listened to 30 genres, 1,213 songs, and 686 artists. My most listened-to day was February 14 (lol) at 1,126 minutes, and I was in the top 2% of listeners worldwide (rookie numbers).

Closing thoughts: until every single Selfish Machines track is at the top of my top songs list, we can do better.